Cheapest, Reviews, Coupon, Best Prices

Cheapest The Goldfinch eBook: Donna Tartt Reviews, Best Prices, Coupon

~ Reviews & Cheapest ...
Price: £7.49 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
Special Offers Available? (in Amazon)
You Save: £12.51 (63%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 1 hrs 39 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

Magnificent!

It is rare that I am given to read a book that I truly savour from cover to cover, that I cannot wait to pick up at night after a whole day"s waiting and wondering what will happen... Read more

Published 4 hours ago by Cryonica

A long wait!

As a great fan of Donna Tartt, The Little Friend is among my favourite top 10 books, so I was delighted when The Goldfinch was published after a long wait for her next book. Read more

Published 7 hours ago by hertsj

Brilliant

Donna Tartt had written another truly wonderful book - you feel as if you"re right there with the characters, they are so beautifully real. Read more

Published 8 hours ago by M. J. Collins

Where was the editor?

Have just finished reading The Goldfinch and if ever a book needed some severe pruning this is it. Pages and needless pages of turgid prose and a plot that didn"t stand up to too... Read more

Published 2 days ago by Eileen 78

As much of a masterpiece as the titular painting!

Donna Tartt"s latest novel, The Goldfinch, an epic masterpiece well over a decade in production, has been well worth the wait, and could possibly be the best of the three novels... Read more

Published 2 days ago by MK

Too long and rambling

The book starts well - the reader is swept along, but whilst I could understand what Donna Tart was trying to show about the effect of the teribble events of the first section on... Read more

Published 2 days ago by J

A lot of words, a little story

... Donna Tarrt writes well. Her sentences and words are well put on the page. I enjoyed both her previous books. Read more

Published 2 days ago by Mrs E A Bowsher

A Classic

This novel is even better than the Secret History. I did not rate her second novel, My Little Friend, highly but this is a story that is difficult to put down. Just a great book.

Published 2 days ago by MR STEPHEN GRAHAM

An incredible acheivement

The Goldfinch is an astonishing book. It has the sweep of a Victorian novel but maintains a very modern sensibility. Read more

Published 3 days ago by O Henry

Modern Classic

This book is one of the finest I have read in a long time. The Secret History was wonderful but The Little Friend a slight let down (although I will re-read the book soon). Read more

Published 3 days ago by Stephen Lane


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

65 of 65 people found the following review helpful

Magical24 Oct 2013

By A Reader

Format:Hardcover

This is a tough book to review without gushing and without giving away too much of the story. I am going to gush, because in this instance I can"t help it, but I"m going to try to avoid giving away too much of the story, because many of the great delights of The Goldfinch come from that rare experience of reading for pleasure: turning the pages to see what happens next, and losing yourself in this world of someone"s creation. So try to know as little about this book as you can before you start to read it. The Goldfinch is a novel of many wonderful surprises, whether it"s the introduction of both major or minor characters, or plot twists I really never expected, or unexpected shifts of scenery. (And whoa! One change in location in particular is a masterclass in dramatic handling, artfully rendered and most purposefully done.)

But gush isn"t enough, so let me just say this: if you"re a fan of Harry Potter or Pinocchio or The Wizard of Oz, if you"ve enjoyed Truman Capote, Jack Kerouac or J.D. Salinger, or Huckleberry Finn or Walt Whitman, if you"ve had fun with Breaking Bad or Six Feet Under, if you can imagine Dickensian epics retold for the era of global capital and sprinkled with a dose of Buddhist sentiment, if you love the old masters of Dutch painting, if you love dogs, if you love little birds, if you"ve loved either of Donna Tartt"s other novels, if you live for great storytelling, if you think that art can change the world and that we can love unquestioningly (deep breath) ... if any of the above apply to you in any way, there is a good chance that you might like or even (like me) love this book and be totally wrapped in its embrace.

The ending of the book just soars. It moved me to tears.

The Goldfinch is epic, and it"s ambitious. The many fantastic reviews are warranted. It takes risks, and they worked magically for me. Books as pleasurable as this are rare events. Yes, I"m gushing.

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful

"A TRENCHANT, DEFIANT, ENGROSSING NOVEL" 24 Oct 2013

By Gail Cooke TOP 500 REVIEWER

Format:Hardcover

If you read but one book this year let it be The Goldfinch, seven years in the writing and well worth every day of waiting for the incomparable pleasure it brings. Donna Tartt"s prose sings, dances, makes you smile and breaks your heart. Each word is carefully chosen, so perfect in placement that it is as if a master craftsman had set it there. And why not? Tartt is a master craftsman creating fully drawn characters and revealed to us in all of their complexities. We not only see them but share their ruminations as they reveal their thoughts on life, love and the power of art.

At heart this is the story of New Yorker Theodore Decker and The Goldfinch, a painting by Dutch master Carel Fabritius. We meet Theodore or Theo at the age of 13 when he and his beloved mother take shelter from a rainstorm in a museum. His mother means everything to Theo and when she is killed in a horrific explosion at the museum he realizes "...the daily, commonplace happiness that was lost when I lost her." For him that is so true. Somehow he manages to escape the carnage physically sound but psychologically damaged. He takes with him the Fabritius painting, an object that becomes as necessary to him as breath. But how can he keep it when eventually the world will be looking for the masterpieces lost in tragedy?

Initially Theo returns to the apartment that he shared with his mother sure that she will return. But once convinced that she is dead he ricochets from place to place, steps ahead of the social service workers. His father deserted the family years ago, and he is alone. Theo finds a temporary home with a wealthy family on the Upper East Side, the Barbours, whose son Andy had been a playmate of Theo"s years before.
Read more ›

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful

Difficult to rate highly enough - Donna Tartt"s masterwork 23 Oct 2013

By A Common Reader TOP 50 REVIEWER VINE VOICE

Format:Hardcover

I am one of the many people who have been waiting for years for Donna Tartt to bring out a novel equal to her first - The Secret History. Her Second Novel, The Little Friend, did nothing for me although I ploughed through it waiting for the same literary buzz that The Secret History gave me. Now at last, Donna Tartt has met my expectations by producing this fantastic, nearly 800 page novel, The Goldfinch.

I was fortunate enough to see a review copy of the book and while I was initially daunted by the scale of the book (and not exactly attracted by the blurb on the cover), I started to read it and was immediately drawn in and captivated. There is something about good writing which makes is just as satisfying as a good meal. I found a sort of nourishment going on in my head as I read through Tartt"s elegant prose. It"s not just the elegance however, it"s the sheer pulsating interest of the book - this is the ultimate "good read" sought after by book-lovers the world over. Even the first chapter has an extremely dramatic event at it"s core, and straightaway you find yourself wondering "where can this go to next"?

There is a sort of Dickensian feel to this book (not that it"s in any way archaic in subject of style) for like Dickens, Tartt can delve into huge amount of detail without being boring. Although the book has an epic scale, it can also seem microscopic in the way the author recounts small episodes.
Read more ›


Product Description

Review

A glorious novel that pulls together all her remarkable storytelling talents into a rapturous, symphonic whole and reminds the reader of the immersive, stay-up-all-night pleasures of reading (Michiko Kakutani New York Times)

The Goldfinch is a triumph . . . Donna Tartt has delivered an extraordinary work of fiction (Stephen King New York Times)

An astonishing achievement . . . if anyone has lost their love of storytelling, The Goldfinch will most certainly return it to them. The last few pages of the novel take all the serious, big, complicated ideas beneath the surface and hold them up to the light (Guardian)

A modern epic and an old-fashioned pilgrimage...Dickens with guns, Dostoevsky with pills, Tolstoy with antiques. And if it doesn't gain Tartt entry to the mostly boys' club that is The Great American Novel, to drink with life-members John Steinbeck, Harper Lee, Saul Bellow, Philip Roth et al, then we should close down the joint and open up another for the Great Global Novel - for that is what this is (Alex O'Connell The Times)

Lavish and lush in décor and span . . . highly wrought and romantic as her numerous admirers will hope (Book of the Week, Boyd Tonkin Independent)

Book Description

Donna Tartt, author of the phenomenal bestsellers The Secret History and The Little Friend, returns with a breathtaking new novel. See all Product Description
www.kreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
[a_com_OA]